Massachusetts Legal Blog
How Safe Are Drivers in Massachusetts?
The insurance marketplace Everquote created an application to measure people’s driving habits. The Safe Driving Challenge was a two-week study that compared Massachusetts’ drivers to those in New York State.
Motorists in Massachusetts fared slightly better in their overall safety score of 76 compared to New York’s 74. Within the state, North Reading was determined to be the safest city to travel in, while Boston was the most dangerous. The application measured factors including acceleration, braking, mobile device usage, and speed. Overall, the report stated that Massachusetts drivers seemed to travel at 10 miles per hour over the speed limit.
Allstate America’s Best Drivers
Insurance giant Allstate released a report analyzing and ranking 200 U.S. cities according to their driving safety. The report identified the following:
- The average number of years between insurance claims ;
- Claim likelihood compared to the national average;
- Volume of braking events per 1,000 miles;
- Considerations based on population density and average annual precipitation.
Massachusetts had three cities in the bottom five worst-ranked cities for safe driving. Springfield drivers averaged 5.7 years between insurance claims, and a claim likelihood of 76.7%. Worcester drivers averaged 4.5 years between insurance claims, and a claim likelihood of 124.4%. Boston, which was the worst in the U.S., averaged 3.7 years between insurance claims, and a claim likelihood of 167.6%
Teen Driving Report for Massachusetts
In sharp contrast to the Allstate results, CarInsurance.com found Massachusetts to be the safest state for teenage motor vehicle operation. The teen driver fatality rate in the state was 0.1 per 100,000 people, an improvement over the national average of 0.5 per 100,000 people. They reported that crashes in motor vehicles were the leading reason for teen fatalities in the U.S.; and applauded the state’s graduated driver’s license policies, including: permit age, necessary hours of practice, restrictions on night driving, and teenage passenger laws.
Massachusetts Junior Operator License
Teenagers are traditionally the segment considered “highest risk” drivers. Massachusetts has instituted one of the most restrictive programs for the 16–18 year old driver with the Junior Operator Law (JOL), which requires:
- Drivers must obtain a learner’s permit for six consecutive months and maintain a clean driving record before taking the road test.
- Drivers must complete 30 hours of classroom training and 12 hours of in-car training.
- For the first six months drivers may not drive with people under 18 in the car, excluding immediate family members.
- Drivers are prohibited from driving between 12:30 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless accompanied by a parent.
Were you or a family member recently injured in a Massachusetts traffic accident? You may be entitled to substantial compensation for your losses and hardship. The experienced legal team at DiBella Law Offices, P.C. has spent years obtaining justice for injury victims throughout Essex, Middlesex, and Suffolk Counties. For a complimentary consultation, call the office at (781) 262-3338.
Involved in a car accident?
The first step in getting the compensation you deserve is contacting the experienced legal team at DiBella Law Offices, P.C. Don’t delay, the statute of limitations in Massachusetts is just three years.