Hit and Run Accident
Burlington Hit and Run Accident Lawyer
After a car accident, your best hope is that the other driver’s insurance company will cover the costs of your injuries, car repairs, and time off work. But if the driver leaves the scene before you can get their information, you could be put in a very difficult position where you do not know how to cover your bills. This single act can devastate entire families, but there are still options available to you.
If you or someone you loved was injured in a hit and run accident, you should secure strong legal representation as soon as possible from DiBella Law Offices, P.C. Our Burlington hit and run accident attorney has more than 15 years of experience and has been ranked as a Top 10 Attorney in Massachusetts. He can provide thorough legal advice about how you can recover compensation after a hit and run and cover your medical expenses, as well as other costs. To learn how, contact our office at (781) 262-3338 to schedule a free initial consultation.
Request Your Free Police Report
DiBella Law Offices, P.C., is happy to assist you with getting your crash report at no cost. Visit our police report request page and fill out our form.
We'll take care of the rest.
For most accident victims, a hit and run collision is the worst-case scenario. Many residents of Massachusetts work paycheck-to-paycheck and do not have sizable saving accounts to cover long-term medical expenses. If you were disabled to a collision, you could be quickly buried in medical debt. However, there are a few options for recovery available.
For one, Massachusetts’s auto insurance laws require all policies to include $8,000 in personal injury protection coverage. This is no-fault coverage that means that no matter how your accident occurred, you can use this money to cover the cost of your medical expenses, which can be extremely invaluable if you need to go to the emergency room. If you have this coverage, then you are well within your rights to use it. These policies also apply to pedestrians and cyclists.
In addition, even if the other driver flees the scene, you should contact the authorities. It is illegal to leave an accident without first reporting it to the police, even if you are the victim. Besides the legal requirements, the police may be able to review the accident, check traffic camera footage, and speak to witnesses to identify the at-fault driver. If you have any information that could help the police track down the driver, you should share it with them, even if it is days or weeks after a collision. Information like license plates, vehicle models, decals, and the direction they drove in could be useful. If they do catch the at-fault driver, then you can try to file against their insurance policy.
Lastly, if the driver is not caught, you may be able to pursue an uninsured motorist claim.
Legally speaking, hit and run drivers are considered uninsured motorists, meaning your personal auto insurance policy may cover your accident. If you have uninsured motorist coverage, you can file an uninsured motorist claim against your own insurance company to recover damages. Uninsured motorist coverage is designed to match your personal liability policy limit, meaning you can file up to your own policy’s limit, which can include at a minimum:
- $20,000 for bodily injury per person
- $40,000 total bodily injury per accident (regardless of how many people are injured)
- $5,000 for property damage per accident
Of course, if you have a higher policy limit, you can pursue more compensation. In order to file a claim, however, you will need to make your auto insurance company the at-fault party in a claim. While you are fully within your right to file a claim after a hit and run, you should prepare for an uphill battle. Your insurance company may attempt to minimize the amount of coverage they should offer or devalue your injuries, arguing that you are not as injured as your claim. You will also need to prove your injuries to your insurance company and demonstrate that you are not at fault for an accident.
All of this can be incredibly difficult while you are healing, which is why you should contact an attorney as early as possible. The team at DiBella Law Offices, P.C. can represent you in an uninsured motorist claim and advocate for the maximum available compensation in your claim. In addition, we may be able to provide important legal advice for miss and run accidents.
Miss and run accidents are crashes that occur when one driver causes an accident without actually hitting another vehicle. This can include illegal or dangerous lane changes or merges that cause another driver to run off the road or hit an object. These can also occur when an object falls off or out of a vehicle and strikes another car. In these instances, the at-fault driver may not realize that they have caused an accident and will leave without stopping.
Similar to hit and runs, miss and run accidents are situations where another driver causes an accident and does not stop to provide their insurance information. Miss and run accidents are covered under uninsured motorist coverage, meaning you can still file a claim with your insurance company. However, these cases are more complicated, as there may not be an impact point on your vehicle. Insurance companies will be more dismissive of these claims because the evidence is lighter. That means working with an attorney is vital after these accidents.
Pursuing any auto accident claim can be difficult while recovering from your injuries, and a hit and run accident is no different. Insurance companies will go over every detail, from your medical records to police reports, to discount your injuries and minimize the amount of money they have to pay. But if you work a skilled and knowledgeable Burlington car accident attorney, you may be able to hold them to their policies and get the money you need to heal comfortably, whether or not you claim is with another driver’s policy or your own.
If you bring your case to our team at DiBella Law Offices, P.C., our legal team can review all options to find you compensation. With over 15 years of experience, our lead attorney is well-versed in auto accident claims and can push for full compensation from any insurance policy available. To get started on your claim, call us at (781) 262-3338. We offer every potential client a free initial consultation and work on a contingency fee basis, meaning we do not get paid unless we win you compensation.