Methuen Uninsured/Underinsured Accident Attorneys
What Are Your Options When an Uninsured/Underinsured Driver Hits You?
Like most states, all drivers in Massachusetts must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. Despite the law, many drivers are uninsured – approximately 6.2%, according to the Insurance Research Council (IRC). While this percentage may appear small at first, when you factor in the number of drivers you encounter on a daily basis, you may be in an accident with at least one of them. Even when drivers carry the mandatory minimum of liability coverage, it may not be enough to cover your damages after a serious crash.
What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Policy Requirements in Massachusetts?
All motor vehicles in Massachusetts are required to have the following minimums in liability and other car insurance coverage:
- $20,000 for bodily injury per person
- $40,000 total bodily injury per accident (regardless of how many people are injured)
- $5,000 for property damage per accident
- $8,000 in no-fault, personal injury protection coverage
- $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident for bodily injury in uninsured motorist coverage
What Are Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
Uninsured motorist coverage is required in Massachusetts. Underinsured motorist coverage is not required, but it can help pull you out of a bind and cover your losses if you are hit by a driver with a minimum liability policy.
But what happens if the at-fault driver has liability coverage at the mandatory state minimums? After a serious auto accident, these policy limits may fall far short of covering your medical expenses and damage to your vehicle, let alone your pain and suffering and other losses. A hospital stay can cost tens of thousands of dollars. The average cost of a new passenger vehicle has climbed to nearly $37,000, as reported by Edmunds. If the driver who hit you is underinsured, your underinsured motorist coverage will help you make up the difference.
How Does Underinsured Motorist Coverage Work?
Although uninsured motorist coverage is required under state law, underinsured motorist coverage is optional. Nevertheless, it is wise to include it in your auto insurance policy. If you are involved in a serious car crash caused by another driver and the damages are higher than the at-fault driver’s policy limits, underinsured motorist coverage can help protect you from paying the difference out-of-pocket. Underinsured motorist insurance covers both bodily injury and property damage. To receive these benefits, your insurance provider must find that another driver or individual was the cause of the accident, and that their insurance will not provide full compensation for your claim.
Why You Need a Burlington Car Accident Lawyer
Your best chance of recovering full and fair compensation after a car accident that was someone else’s fault is to have an experienced attorney by your side. Our Burlington personal injury lawyers at DiBella Law Offices, P.C. can help you understand and defend your rights under Massachussetts’s law and explore all options for compensation. We can negotiate skillfully on your behalf with your own insurance company and the insurance company of the at-fault driver.
Insurance carriers are in business for profit and have their own best interests in mind – even your own insurance company. This is why it is important to have a dedicated legal advocate protecting your rights and representing your interests. Call DiBella Law Offices, P.C. at (978) 327-5140 for a tough legal advocate after a Burlington auto accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.