Did an Uber or Lyft Driver Crash, Injuring You?
Ridesharing has become a popular mode of transportation in Boston. Many drivers are opting out of the hassle of finding a place to park for the ease of clicking an app for Uber or Lyft. And most people are happy with the service they receive… until they are involved in a rideshare collision.
Accident victims quickly learn that being in a rideshare vehicle complicates things when it comes to getting compensation. That’s why you should turn to a Boston car accident lawyer at DiBella Law Offices, P.C. We’ll pursue your claim, and you can stop worrying about anything but your recovery. Call (617) 870-0907 today.
Good News for Rideshare Accident Victims
Former Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker signed legislation to implement regulations for transportation network companies. The rules are statewide, and cover issues on public safety, vehicle identification, driver background checks, and insurance. Now, rideshare drivers must maintain minimum insurance levels before being hired, and transportation network companies (TNCs) have to offer $1 million in minimum coverage “as soon as a ride request is accepted.”
In Massachusetts, every driver needs to have four types of coverage:
- Bodily Injury to Others: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $8,000 per person, per accident.
- Bodily Injury Caused by an Uninsured Auto (UIM): 20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
- Damage to Someone Else’s Property: $5,000 per accident.
Uber and Lyft differ slightly in the policies they offer, but both offer additional coverage for drivers who are “available” on the app, drivers who are heading out to pick up passengers, and drivers who are carrying passengers. How much money you can recover after a car crash depends on what “stage” the rideshare driver was in, and can be difficult to determine. But a Boston car accident attorney may be able to help.
Boston Rideshare Accident Lawyer Near Me 855-DiBella
What to Do After a Boston Rideshare Crash
After a rideshare driver has crashed into you, or crashed while you were riding in the vehicle, it’s important to follow these steps. Even if you’re a paying passenger, you shouldn’t rely on the driver to:
- Call 911 for the police. If you need emergency medical services, request them as well.
- Take photos of the damage to all cars involved and any visible injuries you have.
- Obtain the license plate and driver’s license information of all drivers when possible.
- Collect contact information from any witnesses.
- Make any notes about the accident that could be helpful later, such as the time of day, the conditions, how the road looked, and any details to keep the scene fresh in your mind.
Remember, you could be forced to take legal action against your rideshare driver or company if you were a passenger. If the driver crashed into your car while carrying a customer, you need to protect yourself.
We've offered crucial support and guidance to individuals who have suffered injuries, ensuring their financial and emotional well-being.
Why You Need a Boston Lawyer After a Rideshare Crash
DiBella Law Offices, P.C., has years of experience working in the Boston area with car crash victims. We have an intimate understanding of the laws concerning personal injury, and keep up to date with the latest TNC legislation.
In some cases, the driver of the vehicle will be responsible, and his or her insurance will cover any victim’s compensation. In other cases, the transportation network company’s insurance will apply. It could be that a third driver was involved, and should also be held liable.
As a victim of a Boston rideshare accident, you probably have questions about your rights and who should be paying your medical bills. A call to DiBella Law Offices, P.C., at (617) 870-0907 can schedule a free consultation with a Boston personal injury attorney. We will answer your questions and let you know if you are entitled to compensation for your injuries and losses.