Have you been arrested for OUI two or more times? Are you facing a court date for multiple offenses in Massachusetts or New Hampshire? It is important that you retain dedicated legal representation as soon as possible. The stakes are high and your freedom is at risk.
Contact our Massachusetts OUI attorneys at DiBella Law Offices, P.C. to learn more about what you face and how we can help defend you.
What Penalties Do I Face?
Being convicted of multiple DUI or OUI offenses is severely damaging to you reputation and personal freedoms. Being found guilty carries mandatory punishments and a number of other problems.
Second OUI/DUI Offense
When a driver is charged with a second drunk driving offense, the court’s perspective on that person begins to shift. While the court recognizes that a first-time OUI/DUI charge is fairly common, a second charge starts to suggest a pattern and indicates that the accused may pose a continued threat to others on the road. To deter this behavior, the court is prepared to hand down severe penalties to the accused driver.
Even if your first drunk driving conviction happened years ago, a second drunk driving charge can result in cumulative penalties. This is due to Massachusetts’ lifetime “lookback” period, which does not allow older OUI convictions to age-out of repeat offense considerations.
A second OUI/DUI conviction in Massachusetts can result in:
- 30 days to 30 months in jail
- $600 to $10,000 in fines
- Two-year license suspension
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
Massachusetts Multiple Offenses Lawyer Near Me 855-DiBella
Third OUI/DUI Offense
A third OUI is considered a felony under Massachusetts state law. This means, if convicted, you face mandatory penalties and time in court. Even having been charged with a DUI, OUI, or DWI in another state counts as a strike against you and refusing to take a breathalyzer test can mean that your license will be suspended for up to five years. However, your rights entitle you to challenge any findings at a hearing.
Possible penalties for a third DUI conviction in Massachusetts include, but are not limited to:
- A 150-day mandatory jail sentence
- Additional jail time from 180 days up to five years
- Fines of up to $15,000
- An eight-year license suspension
- The possibility of seizing and selling your car
We've offered crucial support and guidance to individuals who have suffered injuries, ensuring their financial and emotional well-being.
Additional OUI/DUI Offenses
Multiple DUI offenses can come with the following penalties:
- One year of mandatory jail time
- Up to five years of additional jail time
- Fines of $1,500 to $25,000
- Ten year license suspension
- Possible seizure and sale of your vehicle
What Are My Legal Options?
It is very important that your attorney looks at all the facts behind each of your DUI charges. Based on your specific circumstances and the situations in which you were arrested, we can help you plan a solid defense that protects your rights. At DiBella Law Offices, P.C., we are not afraid to take your case to trial and advocate for a dismissal, if possible. If not, we are dedicated to helping you seek lesser penalties or a plea deal whenever we can.
To help avoid these punishments, it is important that you contact our dedicated Massachusetts OUI defense lawyers for assistance. Call (978) 327-5140 to schedule your free case consultation today.