Driving in Chelsea
People in Chelsea depend on their cars to get around. Over 80 percent of Chelsea households own at least one automobile. Driving is the most common way for Chelsea residents to get to work, and almost half of them drive to work alone every day. The average commute is over 33 minutes and almost 55 percent of Chelsea commuters drive over 30 minutes to get to work every day. Even though it’s less than five miles from Chelsea to Downtown Boston, it takes at least 15 minutes to make the drive and it can be much longer during rush hour.
Car Accidents in Chelsea
Although drivers can be negligent and cause crashes anywhere around Massachusetts, Chelsea holds a particularly high risk for injuries because of the high number of pedestrians, cars, and large vehicles. Chelsea is a densely populated area so it is common for collisions to occur on the crowded roads.
Chelsea is a small community but is home to several distinct neighborhoods and districts, each with their own traffic signals, crosswalks, and parking regulations. Drivers have a duty and need to be careful to follow the speed limits and be aware of the differences between communities.
If you or a loved one have been in a car accident in Chelsea, you might be entitled to significant compensation. To ensure that your injuries and expenses are fully covered, call DiBella Law Offices P.C. at (978) 327-5140. Our experienced Chelsea car accident lawyers are able to help you steer through the complicated legal framework and ensure the best outcome for your case so you can get the settlement you deserve.
Chelsea Car Accident Lawyer Near Me 855-DiBella
All registered drivers in Chelsea are required to carry a minimum car insurance policy that includes personal injury protection. This provides medical coverage up to a certain limit and is received even when the other driver in the accident was not negligent or if you were in a single car accident.
We've offered crucial support and guidance to individuals who have suffered injuries, ensuring their financial and emotional well-being.
Fault and Compensation
Massachusetts is a “no-fault” state, so this means that if you are in an auto accident in Chelsea, you must go through your own insurance company to receive compensation. This is true even if the other driver caused your injuries and acted negligently.
While these minimums can cover expenses relating to minor accidents, they may not be enough when serious injuries occur. Also, personal injury protection only relates to medical expenses and does not extend to lost wages or pain and suffering. So, to fully recover the costs of your injuries, you may need to pursue a claim against the other driver’s insurance company.
Can I Seek Compensation From the Negligent Driver’s Insurance Company?
Because Chelsea is in the no-fault state of Massachusetts, you have to first go through your own insurance company to get compensation for an accident, even if the other driver was negligent.
You may be able to seek compensation from a negligent driver if your accident meets certain conditions. You may file a claim against the other driver’s policy if the driver was negligent, and you have more than $2,000 in medical expenses or have suffered permanent effects due to your injury.
What Happens If the Other Driver Does Not Have Insurance?
Despite Chelsea having specific auto insurance minimums that every driver must obtain if they want to register a vehicle, many drivers still fail to meet these requirements. Because of this, it is a great idea to look into uninsured motorist (UM) and underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage policies if you have minimum liability insurance. UM and UIM policies apply in certain situations, such as where you are injured by a driver who does not have insurance or if the driver does not have enough coverage to pay the full costs of an accident.
Comparative Negligence in Chelsea
Because of the “modified comparative negligence” concept that Chelsea follows in personal injury trials, you are only eligible for compensation if you are less than 51% responsible for your own injury. A jury is also able to reduce your monetary compensation by your amount of fault. That means, if the jury decides that you are 15% responsible for the accident, they may reduce your compensation by 15%.
What About the Statute of Limitations?
The deadlines by which cases must be filed are governed by the Statute of Limitations. These are state laws that limit the amount of time a person has to go to court and file an initial complaint. For personal injury lawsuits that stem from car accidents, the statute of limitations is three years.
You Do Not Have to Deal with the Aftermath of an Accident Alone
We know how stressful the time after a car accident can be. To get the settlement you deserve, it is important that you be represented by a qualified Chelsea personal injury attorney. Our talented and experienced attorneys calculate the full costs of your injuries and advocate on your behalf for proper compensation.
Call us today at (978) 327-5140 for a free consultation.